Making An A.T.K. (All Terrain Kayak)

Being that my boat is 12′ long and weighs 60 lbs, it can be hard to get from the car to the water by myself.  Not to mention that I have to make multiple trips to get it and my gear transported.

Now, they sell doilies you can strap under the back (Called Portage Carts), but they aren’t cheap, I am!  Besides, I like making things.  With a little PVC pipe, some fittings, a couple of lawnmower wheels, a metal rod and a pool noodle from the dollar store, I made my own.

If anyone is interested in making one, I can write-up a part’s list and directions.  It really shouldn’t cost more than about $25, depending on the wheels.  (Much cheaper if you can salvage the wheels from something else!)

I’ve used it a couple of outings now and it has worked like a charm (I did trim the height down and cut the kick-stand off… Trial and error!).  I can strap the dolly to the back, load all my gear in the boat and make one trip to the water.  Once there, I can take it off, take it apart, and store it in the back of the boat with my cooler for when I get where I’m going.

PhotoGrid_1379588941651 CameraZOOM-20130921150924062~01 (Medium) CameraZOOM-20131004174150325~01 (Medium)

