What a Difference!

Well, yesterday I took the Pelican out into Lake Lanier….  In amongst ski boat, jet skis, fishing boats, house boats and even sail boats.  All of those wakes, and a decent wind, made for very choppy conditions out in the open parts if the lakes. All I can say is WOW! She took 3′ swells like nothing. Some kids on a large jet ski seemed determined to make me capsize. Several times they passed by me within 10 ft, and would cut across in front of me making “s turns” at full throttle….  I rode them out like a roller coaster!

I tried to stick to the coves, and even went about a half mile or so back up Balus Creek. But, yeah, I had to cross open water several times.

image

Despite the few jerks (mind you, there were many more considerate boaters that would power down and glide by me), I did about 7 miles in just under 3 hours.

I’m sore, and sunburned today. (yes, I use sunscreen and reapplied it a couple of times, but I missed a few spots.) I’m looking forward to having the 4th off. If I can find a paddling partner, I might head north to Lake Rabun, Lake Burton, or Lake Hartwell.

Posted from WordPress for Android

