Got To Paddle A While Today

OK, so I headed down to Fort Yargo State Park again today. I started the day off geocaching on the hiking trails. After about 3 hours of hiking/caching, I had lunch and put my boat in the lake. It was a BEAUTIFUL day for it! Just perfect!  There were a lot of people out paddling on the lake today… Older, younger, families… in kayaks, canoes, paddle boards and even a guy in a little row boat!

I uploaded some more pictures in my kayaking album on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151437343778616.1073741825.612038615&type=1&l=f7f172e818

Here’s the track of my outing: http://www.endomondo.com/workouts/194549211/7294131

Oh, my Skeg Modification made a BIG difference.  Yeah, she still wanted to bounce around with me.  I don’t thing ANYTHING can fully fix the tracking issue.

I also made a change that helped with the paddling.  I added the extra middle section out of the spare paddle to make a longer paddle.  I didn’t measure, but I’m guessing this make it close to 9ft.  yeah, that’s a bit long, but the boat is wide.  I didn’t feel like I was dragging the paddle down the sides this time and was able to get more power out of my strokes.  Unfortunately, this changed where I hold the paddle.  I couldn’t use the built-in grips.  So, I’ve got a couple of good blisters.  Looks like I need to get some Yakgrips.

